Missing in Action

Image

At the tail end of the banner year of 1982, came this film which baffled audiences but became an obsession with this writer: It Came from Hollywood.

By that time, I had made the Medved’s Golden Turkey Awards my bedside reading. This movie was originally supposed to be based on the book but some bad blood erupted over the project the Medveds were relegated to status of Advisors. They would rag on this film in their second book Son of the Golden Turkey Awards.

A lot of “purists” hate this film for including bona-fide classics such as The Creature from the Black Lagoon and War of the Worlds in the mix. From an editing point of view it makes perfect sense as it hooks viewers on the limit of what they perceive as cheesy using films they may be familiar with before taking down into the rabbit hole of true B-movie madness.

The film is obviously the kindle under Mystery Science Theater 3000‘s fire. The riffing is not constant barrage like the boys of the Satellite of Love deliver but that’s not the point as It Came from Hollywood is more intent on letting the biggest laughs come from the clips themselves with Dan Aykroyd, Gilda Radner, Jon Candy and Cheech & Chong merely providing intro segments and the occasional quip.

Needless to say, this film became an instant obsession with me. From the first time I’ve laid eyes on it, it has become my life ambition to track down and see (and eventually own) all the films stuffed and mounted on this celluloid mantle. (In fact, I purchased one of them, the giant gorilla feature A*P*E, just a few minutes ago on Amazon).

It goes without saying that this film was destined to be the crown jewel of my OCD-fueled “bad” movie collection. Unfortunately, it was not meant to be.

Image

Sadly, just as the film was due to be released on DVD, it was shelved due to rights issues. It occasionally shows up on cable (often with the wildly politically incorrect excerpt from the Al Jolson musical Wonder Bar chopped out).

I often refer to this film as a Cinemasochism Primer. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve viewed this film. Now it’s loaded on my phone permanently in case I need a quick fix.

I’m seriously considering a Medic-Alert bracelet engraved with instructions to play this film should I fall into a coma.

Pain Level: 10/10 – It just keeps coming!
Quality of Pain:
Smorgasbord!
Painjoyment™ Level: Maximum

About The Cinémasochist

I'd rather just talk about "bad" movies. View all posts by The Cinémasochist

Leave a Reply

